White Out IV: Buried

A/N If you haven’t been keeping up, this post (and all following posts) are going to make less sense, so I suggest you start at the beginning with Maturity I (side note: be warned of the sub-par writing. Holy crap, that was over two years ago!). Or check out my post directory for this storyline’s posts in order. Happy reading!

Bzzt Bzzt!

“Where did you go??” Gen texted. I don’t know why I ran. I should have waited for Gen. That was the plan.

Bzzt Bzzt!

I shouldn’t be surprised that Dylan shoved her cupcake down my dress. After all, three years ago I threw an egg at Claire’s face. After we became friends, Claire told me that she ran into her room and cried after that incident. Now I know exactly how she felt. It’s humiliating.

I parked myself on a garden bench next to small fountain. Hot tears stung my eyes, but I didn’t bother wiping them away. The sun glared down on me, mixing sweat with melted chocolate and tears with foundation and mascara. I probably look like a trainwreck. Hell, I feel like a trainwreck.

Bzzt Bzzt!

“Chocolate brown isn’t your color,” it was the stalker.

“Happy now!?!” I replied. I could barely see the screen anymore.

“Napkin?” I heard. I peered up to find an outstretched hand gripping a bunch of napkins.

“Thanks,” I said, grabbing the lot. I started dabbing my eyes, trying to preserve what was left of my makeup.

Bzzt Bzzt!

“You looked like you could use them,” the voice said. I peered up slowly. It was a male, with fluffy dark hair. However, his face was silhouetted by the sun behind him.

“I’m sorry,” I slid over, allowing him room to sit.

“No problem,” he replied, taking a seat beside me, “rough day I guess?”

I nodded.

“Same,” he replied, “at least it’s quiet over here.”

“Yeah right?” I replied. After drying my face, I turned my attention to the gooey mess that coated my chest.

Bzzt Bzzt!

“I never saw the appeal in wearing all-white. It stains so easily,” he said.

“So I’m realizing” I replied. I felt the corners of my lips trying to turn upwards, but the sadness quickly grabbed a hold of me again. I took a deep breath. He shoved his hands into his pockets. We sat there in silence for a couple minutes.

“Well, you have a nice day,” he said, standing up to leave.

“Wait!” I replied. He turned around. I quickly wiped my hands with the rest of my napkins.

“I’m Massie,” I said, outstretching my hand.

“Gavriel, gav for short” he replied, shaking my hand. Since he was no longer standing in front of the sun, I could get a better look at him. He had sharp brown eyes, shaggy long hair with bangs that covered half his forehead, neatly trimmed eyebrows, high cheekbones, and a little mole on his chin. His smile, while not wide a toothy, still felt genuine. I held on to his hand, though it had gone a bit limp. I stared into his eyes.

Bzzt Bzzt!

“Do you need more napkins?” He asked. I quickly let of his hand, and tucked a loose strand of hair behind my ear. I glanced down to my chest, which was still sticky and gross.

“If you wouldn’t mind,” I said, glancing back up.

Bzzt Bzzt!

“Sure, let me go grab some,” he said, gesturing towards a nearby stand.

“Oh my god, thank you,” a smile broke through the sorrow.

As I watched him walk away, another figure entered my peripherals.

“There you are,” Gen said, “Massie, I sent you a million texts!”

“Hey!” I replied, “sorry. I just couldn’t stand there.”

“Let’s get out of here, I just ordered an Uber” Gen said.

“Wait but this guy…” I replied.

“Come on, it’ll be here any minute” she replied, grabbing my arm.

I stood up and followed her out of the party. We rushed through crowds of people, exited through the security checkpoint, and hopped into our Uber.

“So did you see anyone?” I asked. She pressed her lips together and shook her head. I sighed.

“I didn’t recognize anyone. And people only started paying attention after Dylan shoved a cupcake down your dress,” Gen said. Our conversation clearly caught the attention of our driver.

“Someone shoved a cupcake down your dress?” the driver said.

“Long story,” I replied as I crossed my arms over my chest. The driver nodded. Gen and I gave each other a look, and we spent the rest of the drive in silence.

“Can’t be too careful,” I texted Gen.

“Ditto” she replied.


I have never been to Gen’s house before. We pulled up to a set of gold-accented wrought iron gates.

“Uhh..” the Uber driver muttered.

“You can drop us off here, thank,” Gen replied. We promptly exited the Uber, and Gen entered a code to unlock the gates. Her driveway was one giant circle, the centerpiece of which was a magnificent five-tiered fountain surrounded by flowers. The house itself was a gorgeous colonial-inspired design with a large front porch. As we approached the front door Gen reached into the mailbox and pulled out a spare key.

“You didn’t see that,” she said.

“What?” I replied.

“Exactly,” she said, unlocking the door. I stepped in the foyer and was greeted by a long hallway and a grand chandelier.

“Living room,” she pointed behind me. I unbuckled my shoes and kicked them off behind the door. We plopped down on the plush couch.

“So…” I sighed, “you didn’t see anyone suspicious?”

“No, but I did take a video of as many people as possible,” she whipped out her phone “recognize any of these people?”

“Hmmm…no,” I said, “play it again?”

I shook my head.

“I’ll save it just in case,” Gen replied. I relaxed my neck on the sofa and stared at the ceiling.

“What a bust,” I replied, “and I ruined this dress.”

“I could throw that in the wash, do you wanna borrow something?” Gen asked.

“It’s fine,” I replied, “it’s already ruined.”

“White’s not really your color anyway,” she replied.

“Oh!” I grabbed my phone.

“What?” Gen asked.

I opened my messages. I had one new message from the stalker and it read: “Satisfied.”

“How smug,” Gen replied.

“Are we done?” I was about to reply to the text, but Gen grabbed my hand.

“Don’t do that,” she said, “it’ll antagonize them.”

“Ugh!” I released my grip on my phone. It made a small thud as it fell onto the carpet.

“We’ll figure it out,” she said, “or hopefully they’ll leave you alone. I mean, you’re not still doing that internship at Exude right?”

“I don’t know,” I sighed, “I’m supposed to sign the contract I was promised in two-ish weeks.”

“Do you really think that’s a good idea?” she said, “that’s what got you into this mess.”

“I know, I know,” I crossed my arms.

A car door slammed outside the front door.

“Ew,” Gen said, peeping through the curtain, “my brother is home.”

“You have a brother?” I said, “why didn’t I know this?”

Her brother entered in to the foyer.

“Gen, you home?” he immediately spotted us on the couch.

“Uhhh…hi,” he said.

“Hey,” I offered a half-wave, unwilling to move.

“What are you doing home?” Gen said.

“You know I hate parties,” he paused, “got a hot girl’s number though.”

Gen rolled her eyes. He began to take off his shoes and jacket.

“Oh, I’m Massie,” I stood up and offered my hand.

“Nate,” he met my hand with his. He paused our shake and his eyes shifted down to my chest.

“I had a run in with some…cake…” I said.

“Ah, sorry for staring,” he let go of my hand and ran his hands through his hair. Gen and her brother looked more like cousins than brother and sister. She was my height with crystal blue eyes, dark brown hair, and pale skin. Nate, on the other hand, had tanner skin, brown eyes, and light brown hair. Still though, they had a similar face shape, and the same nose.

“Are you staying for dinner?” he asked.

“No, I think I’m headed out now,” I replied.

“What?” Gen said, “come on, stay for dinner.”

“I just want to go home,” I replied.

“I can lend you some clothes though,” she said.

I crossed my arms, “it’s not my clothes. I just…need to go home.”


As soon as I got home I marched straight to my room and tore off my dress, tossing it in the trash can. Dramatic? Maybe. Needed? Yes. I hopped onto my computer and opened up my “In Vogue” aka Current State of the Union. It had grown in popularity, with over 7,000 readers. It’s time for an update.

Publish.

Move on, people. It’s over. I’m over.

My Word is My Bond,

Massie Block


Last three posts: 

White Out I

White Out II

White Out III: The August White Party

Next Post: Coming soon

Missed my previous posts? Check out the post directory!

Character confusion? Check out the character page.

A/N: Wow two posts within three weeks. Go me.

One thought on “White Out IV: Buried

  1. Pingback: White Out III: The August White Party | Dial M for Massie

Leave a comment