Underneath II

July 29th, 2016 – cont. 

Ping!

The doors opened on to the main floor. It was also the reception area to the fashion/styling floor. And that’s when my life changed.

“Alicia,” I said. There she was. My so-called best friend. She was waiting for an elevator with another intern, but that’s not what ticked me off.

“Massie, what are you doing up here?” she replied.

“I don’t know, why are you with two of the clients I tried to book for the August White Party? You know, the ones who were called and told I didn’t work here?”

“Pause,” said the other intern, “these are our clients now and you need to move.”

She shoved passed me and told the clients to come with her onto the elevator. The clients awkwardly walked passed us. Alicia stayed behind.

“Come on Alicia,” the intern demanded. Alicia’s eyes darted between the elevator and me.

48b96674996f484266d80fe644a2714d.gif

“I’m sorry I have to go, talk later, please?” Alicia begged. Before I could reply she rushed into the elevator. I turned around, to catcha guilty-looking Alicia staring at me as the door closed.

“What just happened?” Gen said.

“I don’t know,” I replied.

“You still want to get coffee?” she asked.

“Yeah, let’s get the hell out of here,” I replied.


It wasn’t until six o’clock that Alicia texted me.

“Starbucks?” it said.

“Fine.” I replied.

And so we met at Starbucks. I ordered a Chai Tea and we sat down in the corner lounge chairs. I placed my tea on the table. Alicia was quiet.

“Speak,” I said bitterly.

“It’s not personal, Massie. We needed clients for the party. If I didn’t re-book them who was going to?” she replied.

“I get that. That’s business. But did you or did you not sabotage me? That what I want to know.”

a3bb29c9f68e1917234eb6411965f848.gif

“No! I swear that wasn’t me,” she replied.

“Then who was it?” I said, “how could anybody else have known who my clients were?”

“I don’t know,” she replied.

“And how have you heard nothing about who did it? And why have you been ignoring me?” I replied.

“I haven’t heard anything,” she said.

“But you’ve been awfully quiet lately,” I said.

“Because I’ve been working a lot!” she replied.

“Yeah! Because you reeled in your clients plus mine. You’re benefitting off me being sabotaged and you’ve put in zero effort trying to figure anything out!” I snapped.

“What do you want from me?” she said.

“You know…you know that if something like that happened to you I’d be on it no matter what. That’s what friends do for each other.”

“Oh god-forbid I’m not you, Massie!” she said, slamming her drink down on the table. Two other customers looked at us. I gave them a mind-your-business glare.

“I though we were stronger than this. After everything we’ve been through-“

“We aren’t stronger! Wake up, chica! Everything that happened in the last year broke us. We only stick together at this point because we have nobody else.” she said.

“That’s not true!” I countered.

“Yes it it, or, it was. But not for me, not anymore. This internship is opening new doors for me. I’m sorry, I don’t need you the way I used to,” she replied.

“Then why drag me here? Why meet up if you’re so over our friendship?” I said.

“Because I didn’t set you up. I just want you to know that,” she replied.

“And you were planning on telling me all this when?” I replied, “Were you just going to sneak around forever until I confronted you?”

She looked down.

“Pathetic,” I stood up, “you know, Leesh, regardless of what happened this last year, this one’s on you.”

I walked away before she could reply. I whipped out my phone with every intent to three-way Dylan and Kristen, but something stopped me. After everything that’s happened I couldn’t break another Massie-Alicia fallout to them. But I couldn’t try to keep this from them either. I didn’t know what to do. For once I had no ideas, no plans, no clever solutions. This was a personal mess and I had no idea how to clean it up. And I had so many questions: did Alicia sabotage me? Was she sincere when she said she didn’t, or was she lying to try and save face? And how could she not tell me any of this sooner? She’s never been shy about her feelings so why was she now? How could she have led me on for weeks like nothing was wrong? It was out of character. And confusing. And frustrating. And it hurt.

3e8334c7ab141c50fd987598d060cf9a.gif

 

It really hurt.

My word is my Bond, 

Massie Block


Last post: Underneath I

Next Post: Quarry I

Missed my previous posts? Check out the post directory!

Wait who’s that? Check out the character page.

4 thoughts on “Underneath II

Leave a Reply

